Day 28: Special Place (Capture Your Grief 2013)

Special Place
Special Place

Day 28 of Capture Your Grief (in memory of Freddie Leigh Bromley) and the subject title today is ‘Special Place‘.

When you experience grief like the loss of a baby you place more importance and emphasis on things including places. I wrote about how much the area around Bordeaux means to me in my Sunrise blog post so when choosing which special place to use for today it was easy.

I took the above photograph on the morning my husband and I visited Bordeaux for the sunrise picture at the start of this challenge on Oct 1st. It is taken at the nature reserve looking out over our special bench.

This is special to me because it is near where we live and when I visited the area whilst pregnant I would always sit on the bench to take time out to rest and look out to sea. Here is a picture of me at week 39 of my pregnancy at the same spot taken by my husband sat on the bench. This is the last time I visited it whilst Freddie was alive so is a fond memory of mine.

Week 39 at Bordeaux
Week 39 at Bordeaux

We were hoping to arrange a memorial plaque to be placed on this bench in memory of Freddie.  However we recently learnt that this bench was reserved and plaques have already been put up for another family.

I am a little disappointed and sad that we have missed the opportunity to have this exact bench but there is another bench right next door to it which is at least in still the same area.  It is just a shame as the other bench next to it is not as nice and not the one we have a connection with regarding Freddie.  I just hope the bench means as much to the family as it does to me.

I am trying not to be too upset about it and keep reminding myself that if we do get the bench next door, what is important is that it will still be our special place to visit where we can stop and think about Freddie.

Reply

