Day 26: Community (Capture Your Grief 2013)

Community
Community

Day 26 of Capture Your Grief (in memory of Freddie Leigh Bromley) and the subject title today is ‘Community‘.

I believe it is SO important that anyone who has been affected by pregnancy and infant loss should be able to talk about it, not be embarrassed or ashamed by it and have a platform to share their experiences and views so as to help others. I wouldn’t say I am happy to be part of this ‘group’ as such, as no one would ever want to be but now I am, I want to help others in any way I can.

Knowing you are not alone and are able to build a support network is vital for not only you but your family and close friends. I believe true friendships will be made out of this. I may be a 1 in 4 statistic but I am not ashamed and will do what I can to raise awareness of miscarriage, still birth and SIDS etc. and help others who are sadly living with grief too.

This is why I have chosen a picture featured in the Guernsey Press from our local Wave of Light service held on October 15th, the first of its type here on Guernsey. The local event was organised by Aimee De Carteret who recently set up the Facebook Group Little Lights of Hope (Pregnancy & Infant Loss Support Guernsey).

As a group member I have found it beneficial to be part of a community of people who are sadly also experiencing grief to share stories, ask advice and most importantly to feel I am not alone. I found out about the service through this Facebook group and my family and I really found solace in attending the event and will be supporting it each year.

I am proud to be part of the article which featured in the Parish Matters section of the Guernsey Press on October 24th as I hope more people read it and have the courage to join us and our community.

Reply

