Day 22: Words (Capture Your Grief 2013)

20131022-122556.jpg

Words

Day 22 of Capture Your Grief (in memory of Freddie Leigh Bromley) and the subject title today is ‘Words‘.

These are Freddie’s tiny footprints with an excerpt from a beautiful poem called ‘These are my Footprints’. This poem was read by a dear friend at Freddie’s funeral on 27th August 2013 and these footprints were placed on the front of the service sheet.

This poem summarises our feelings perfectly and on the dark days I will remind myself that my son and I will never truly part.

These are my footprints, so perfect and so small.
These tiny footprints, never touched the ground at all.

Not one tiny footprint, for now I have my wings.
These tiny footprints were meant for other things.

You will hear my tiny footprints, in the patter of the rain.
Gentle drops like angel tears, of joy and not from pain.

You will see my tiny footprints, in each butterfly’s lazy dance.
I’ll let you know I’m with you, if you give me just a chance.

You will see my tiny footprints, in the rustle of the leaves.
I will whisper names into the wind, and call each one that grieves.

Most of all, these tiny footprints, are found in mummy and daddy’s hearts.
Because even though I’m gone now, we’ll never truly part.

Author Unknown

Reply

