Day 10: Beliefs (Capture Your Grief 2013)

Beliefs
Beliefs

Day 10 of Capture Your Grief (in memory of Freddie Leigh Bromley) and the subject title today is ‘Beliefs‘.

I believe in fate and as hard as that may be with Freddie’s passing, I believe everything happens for a reason.  I know some people in similar situations to us may not like to hear that, but personally that is what I believe.

This is a picture of a thank you card I gave my mother and sister at Freddie’s baby shower two weeks before he passed.  As we sat there chatting once everyone had gone home, a bird flew into the garden and landed on top of the bunting that was up, just like on this card.  I spotted it and commented on how amazing that was.

I had specifically picked the card with bunting on it because we had arranged for everyone at the baby shower to sew and decorate their triangle of material so we could put all the pieces together to make bunting.   Once Freddie had passed Rik decided he wanted to add Freddie’s name to my triangle and we proudly hung the finished bunting up at his wake.

Freddie's Bunting
Freddie’s Bunting

Birds have played a big part in Freddie’s life.  I gave my mother a bird Christmas tree decoration the day I announced my pregnancy, the plant my mother picked out to put in her garden in memory of him she later found out was called Hibiscus Blue Bird, one of the songs we played at his funeral was Songbird by Eva Cassidy and after he passed a dear friend gave us a blue ceramic bird.  

Bird
Bird

We therefore feel so strongly about this connection that we have decided to have a bird on Freddie’s memorial plaque.

I don’t know why Freddie left us or where he is now, but I believe he knows he is very special and very loved and will one day fly into our lives once again. I can’t wait.

One thought on “Day 10: Beliefs (Capture Your Grief 2013)

Reply

