Day 8: Colour (Capture Your Grief 2013)

Colour
Colour

Day eight of Capture Your Grief (in memory of Freddie Leigh Bromley) and the subject title today is ‘Colour‘.

After we had announced to our family we were expecting, my sister was eager to take me shopping.  I had not done any shopping at this stage as we were still awaiting our first scan and therefore had not told anybody except for close family.  Me and my sister had a fun day visiting Mamas & Papas and Aladdin’s Cave and came away with some beautiful goodies for a rather spoilt baby.

I have fond memories of this day, especially how we tried to keep it a secret as we browsed and pretended to be buying the items for a friend.  The sex of the baby was unknown at this stage so we couldn’t buy anything blue or pink.  Having looked at our options (which were mainly beige), we went for a colourful collection called Jamboree that was fun and vibrant.

The items purchased that day included bunting that is hanging up in one corner of our bedroom set up for Freddie’s arrival.  Underneath the bunting sits his basket filled with toys ready to be played with.

We have kept the bunting up as it is bright and colourful making our room more cheerful. It also reminds me of the effort we went to in getting the pieces in our preferred order.  I don’t know why but it was really important for me to get it just right so I often swapped the pieces around and we even named the animals.  This was the design I ended up on and was happy with.  My theory was that I wanted Freddie to be able to look up and see all the colourful and amusing characters.

Some have said it might have been easier for us if all the items could have been in a nursery with a door so to be shut away but I find it a great comfort to walk into our bedroom, or get into bed at night, and look over at Freddie’s corner.

I love that Freddie’s toys, items and clothes are all around us, adding colour to the darkness.

Reply

