Coming to a Dancefloor near you soon!

I can’t quite believe it. I am sooooooo excited that it has been confirmed this week that I will be taking part in the Sarnia Estate Agents Dancefloor Challenge 2012!

The event is highly regarded on the island and is an important annual fixture in the local scene. The event takes place on Saturday April 28th at Beau Sejour and is supporting fantastic local charities – GADA (Guernsey Amateur Dancesport Association) and the Guernsey Bereavement Service.

The event usually sells out in minutes filling approximately 400 places at the event!

It’s every girl’s dream to learn to dance and be led by a handsome man. But not just any dance, to learn ballroom dancing, and it’s going to happen to me!

I met with the organisers, sponsors and all the local professional dancers and “personalities” earlier this week. I won’t lie, I was nervous, apprehensive and excited but mostly intrigued to find out who I was paired up with, what the other dancers were like and most importantly, what dances I would be learning.

The outcome of a very highly energised gathering with a bunch of lovely people is that I have the privilege of dancing with a rather gorgeous 21 year old called Alex Rowe. When I heard the group dance options were either the Argentine Tango or the American Smooth, I had hoped for the latter and to do a lively couple dance like the jive. The result is Alex and I will be dancing the…..

group Argentine Tango and a couple Ballroom Tango!

Two tangos! I couldn’t believe it! I was informed that these are sexy but serious dances and therefore there would be no room for holding back!! I love music and love to dance to music but this is mainly on a nightclub dancefloor and have never really done the whole dance with somebody thing. I’m more of a free spirit, enjoying my own space and control so dancing with a partner and letting them lead is definitely going to be new to me!

I really can’t wait though and think Alex, my dance partner, and I are going to work hard but have some fun and quite a few giggles along the way. Ultimately I want to make Alex proud and not be disappointed in myself on the night.

So practise hasn’t even started yet, and doesn’t until the new year, but I’m already so excited and rearing to go. In the meantime I will just satisfy myself by thinking about the costumes (well which girl wouldn’t) and enjoy a few more Strictly shows on the telly before all the hard work begins 🙂

For more information about the event and the line up – click here.

Reply

